The Herd: New hires, promotions & departures for 2.1.22

Email submissions to [email protected]


John M. Barry, vice president for communications and chief marketing officer for the University of Richmond, has announced his retirement, effective July 29.


Joining Williams Mullen:

Elizabeth Scott “Scottie” Fralin has joined the senior housing transactions team. She has degrees from the University of Virginia and the University of Richmond.

Sean Hutson has joined the financial services and real estate section. He has degrees from Heidelberg College and the University of Richmond.

Joining the Central Virginia Legal Aid Society:

Rebekah Luttrell is an attorney in victim advocacy services in the Petersburg office. She had been assistant state attorney with the State Attorney’s Office for the 12th Judicial Circuit in Sarasota, Florida.

Sylvia Jones is senior managing attorney. She had been deputy attorney general with the State Attorney General’s office.

Real Estate

Evelyn Harper joined the Westham office of Long & Foster Real Estate.

Molly Bates and Middleton Smith have been promoted to first vice presidents in Commonwealth Commercial Partners‘ Asset Management Group.


Naomi E. Boyd has been named dean of the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Business, effective July 1. She is currently with West Virginia University.


Paul Gregg is executive director for Cedarfield. He had been with Westminster at Lake Ridge in Woodbridge, Virginia. He has degrees from St. Andrews Presbyterian College and North Carolina State University.

Michael Shaw is vice president of continuing care retirement community operations for Pinnacle Living. He had been with Cedarfield.


Robert Hilb will lead the merger and acquisition activity of Choice Financial Group. He will continue as senior advisor and board member.

Stephen E. Fletcher has joined EVOadvisers as a lead financial planner. He had been with BlueSky Wealth Advisors and is a graduate of Campbell University.


Damion Pizarro has joined Harkins as a senior project manager.

Ray Pinotti has joined Shurm Homes as project manager.


Emily Forthuber is a digital marketing manager with WebStrategies.

At circle S studio:

Rachel Butcher has been promoted to vice president/director of finance.

Melinda Anselmo is a graphic designer. She is a graduate of James Madison University.

Joining Addison Clark:

Mitch Vaile is a videographer. He is a graduate of Liberty University.

Meghan Schmidt and Ben Malakoff are account managers. Schmidt is a graduate of Virginia Tech. Malakoff is a graduate of Virginia Commonwealth University.

Health Care

Erin Keister has been named the division chief nurse executive for HCA Healthcare Capital Division. She has degrees from Radford University and Jefferson College of Health Sciences.


Barry F. Moore Jr. is president and CEO of the BBB. He is a graduate of Seton Hall University.

Isam Ghanim has been named president and CEO for ChildFund International.


At Glavé & Holmes Architecture:

Lori Garrett has been named president.

Randy Holmes, who had been president, will continue to serve as senior principal.


Joining Fahrenheit Advisors:

Missy Brunner-Brown and Andie Gantz-Holly are consultants with the finance and accounting practice.

Marcus Taylor is a senior consultant with the finance and accounting practice.

Kim Moore and Chris Weldon are managing directors with the business advisory practice.


The Virginia Bar Association: president, Victor O. Cardwell with Woods Rogers in Roanoke; immediate past president, Richard H. Ottinger with Vandeventer Black in Norfolk; president-elect, Benjamin D. Leigh with Atwill, Troxell & Leigh in Leesburg; chair of the board of governors, W. Ryan Snow with Crenshaw, Ware & Martin in Norfolk.

The Young Lawyers Division: chair, Kristen R. Jurjevich with Pender & Coward in Virginia Beach; chair-elect, R. Patrick Bolling with Woods Rogers in Lynchburg.

Board of Governors: representing the Capitol region, Steven D. Brown with IslerDare in Richmond; at-large, Lonnie D. “Chip” Nunley III with Hunton Andrews Kurth in Richmond; representing the Southside region, William E. Phillips with Caskie & Frost in Lynchburg; at-large, Donna M. Rostant with Jones & Rostant in Fairfax.

Del. Jeffrey Bourne, representing Virginia’s 71st District in the House of Delegates, and B. Keith Faulkner, who is the dean of the Appalachian School of Law, have been appointed to advise on legislative and law school matters.

Ex officio member, Ryan W. Boggs with Dominion Energy in Richmond, is a volunteer general counsel.

Continuing on the VBA Board of Governors are: Potomac representative, Carla D. Brown with Charlson Bredehoft Cohen & Brown in Reston; Blue Ridge representative, Rosalie P. Fessier with TimberlakeSmith in Staunton; Southwest representative, Timothy W. Gresham with PennStuart in Abingdon; At-large representatives L. Steven Emmert with Sykes, Bourdon, Ahern & Levy in Virginia Beach; Charles E. “Chuck” James Jr. with Williams Mullen in Richmond; Kimberlee Harris Ramsey with FloranceGordonBrown in Richmond; and Robert E. Scully Jr. with Blankingship & Keith in Fairfax; judicial representative, Daniel E. Ortiz with the Court of Appeals of Virginia in Fairfax; and chair of the Law Practice Management Division, Cliona Mary Robb with ThompsonMcMullan in Richmond.


Nick Berrie has been promoted to technical director of offensive security operations with Assura.

The Herd: New hires, promotions & departures for 2.1.22